Day 11: Along Came A Spider

Day 11 of the 365-day charity challenge gets an injection of superheroics…

jan 11 main

Something’s tingling. I think it’s my embarrassment sense.

It’s Super Saturday, and Spider-Dave is here is put the web back in the web. I was going to wear my red Vans today and do a Spider-Vans headline, but my mate Jordan offered me the loan of some red and blue Converse, and I couldn’t resist. (Hmmm, if Jordan had lent me these for the Superman photo on Day 9  I could have done an Air Jordans gag, but life is full of missed opportunities).

jan 11 wall crawling

Besides, I don’t want to plough through my own collection too quickly. I need some spare pairs for days when I can’t get loaners later in the year. So huzzah to Jordan, and may you follow his example!

Not that I’m in much danger of running out just yet. I’ve got a couple more loaners next week, and last night I secured a deal which should see me being able to fill my “week of cycling shoes” promise that I made on Day 3. Which I will now have to fulfill, as the total so far pledged sailed past the £220 target I set for that mini challenge. So in February, prepare for Bike Week (and people in my office better get used to the sound of clicking).

But I am becoming increasingly aware that I need to start finding new sources of loaners, so I need to make some plans this weekend. As I seem to be giving Converse a lot of free publicity, maybe they might help out? I certainly think there’s a lot of potential fun to be had with their “design your own” facility.

It’s a shame that Converse seem to have an exclusive deal with DC, though. Vans has teamed up with Marvel, sure, but it’d be great to have some red Cons with webbing all over them, and I don’t trust my skills with a black felt tip. (Oh, and just in case you’re wondering, I am not wearing the Spider-Man gimp suit all day… the challenge only requires the trainers, so I’m back in jeans and T-shirt now).

Jan 11 main 2

Usual sign off:

Current total: £240 (good day yesterday – thanks everybody!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

