Day 12: The Forces Of Black And White

The 365-day Charity Trainer Challenge goes back to basics

jan 12

As it’s a murky, cold Sunday and I don’t plan on going anywhere today (loads of freelance to do as well), I’m taking the opportunity to get this pair out of the way (as I don’t fancy wearing ’em in public). They’re another “what was I thinking?” pair. Maybe they made me think of my Two Tones days, but honestly, I can’t imagine The Beat or The Specials sporting ’em. Emerica do make some great skate trainers, but these are way too clumpy and bulky to be comfortable for any sport, and the feeble attempt at a bubble sole gives them a bit of an unfortunate “Air Max wannabe” vibe.

Still, maybe some science fiction could use them as a metaphor for the eternal cliché… sorry battle between the forces of dark and light. It’d make a change from Chess.

You can tell they’re not my faves, so I’ve stuck a cute cat in the shot as a cynical attempt to get people to go, “Ahhhhh!” and take attention away from my sartorial inelegance.

Abominable_catNot that Sparky is particularly cute. He’s been with me for years, and looks like he could have auditioned for the part an Abominable Snowman in that old Patrick Troughton Doctor Who story. Here’s my recreation of a scene from “The Abominable Snowmen” with a pile of rocks standing in for Snowdonia standing in for the Himalayas. Uncanny, isn ’t it? (Don’t answer that.)

After a week of fairly extravagant photo set-ups, I’m going to have to have a few days of more standard shots, I’m afraid. There are some exciting developments at work which means I’m going to be very busy for a while. I do have some great photo ideas planned, though – I’ll just spring ’em on you when you least expect it. The Star Wars one could be epic(ally daft).

So, enjoy Sunday. Keep warm. Wear good shoes.

Usual sign off:

Current total: £260 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

