Day 17: Avengers Assemble

Captain America and Hank Pym lend a hand in 365-days of trainers charity challenge

Jan 17 main

Nike work if you can get it

The world is at threat. Earth’s mightiest heroes must assemble to save planet Earth. But they were on a tea break so Captain America and Giant-Man – Hank Pym (on the days he isn’t Ant-Man) – stepped in to the breach. And in this exclusive preview shot from Avengers 2: Age Of Ultron, we can see there’s some pretty major Nike product placement going on.

Jan 17 c

 

Fooled you? Yeah, of course, it’s me in this rather splendid pair of Nike Dunk low tops, on loan to me from Nike fan, mate and work colleague Steve Gotobed… and that won’t be the last time you read his name on this blog. Because Steve  has gone above and beyond the call of duty for The Sole Of Sci-Fi, and offered me another pair of near pristine, rare Nikes that I can auctioned off for charity. More on that next week. (He’s actually loaned me three pairs in all forn the challenge… many, many thanks, Steve).

Jan 17 d

I’ve always loved Nike Dunk low tops, much more so than the high tops, and it’s strange I’ve never bought a pair. Probably down to that stinginess I mentioned a few days back. But these look great, so I may dig into my mothballed wallet and you may see another pair of Dunks before the challenge is out…

cover trainers blogAnd since we’re on a Captain America theme (it was a total coincidence, honest) I may as well give a plug for my latest project as editor, which is on sale today. More details by clicking here.

Got another radio interview in a little while, with BBC Radio Bristol this time. The Bath Chronicle is also interviewing me on Monday. That involves a photo. I’m panicking already about that. I hate having photos taken. Well, ones that include my face… But it should help raise donations. Speaking of which:

Usual sign off:

Current total: £300 (no new donations yesterday)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

