Day 23: Adidasipose Or Adiposidas?

Two kinds of far burners star in the latest installment of The Sole Of Sci-Fi charity challenge

Jan 23 b2

Two different ways to get rid of excess fat, but one only does your knees in while the other results in considerable messiness and death.

jan 23 adidasiposeThis is Andy. No, I don’t name the trainers (though you might find that difficult believe by Day 23 of this challenge). Not sure if a grown man naming plush toys is any less weird, but hey ho. Andy the Adipose. Who today is doing a bit of product placement as Andypose the Adidasipose. Or possibly Adiposidas. Either way, it was the sci-fi/trainer crossover that was waiting to happen. In my head, anyway.

I know that so far my selection of trainers (as opposed to the ones I’ve borrowed) has mostly involved canvas and rubber plimsolly affairs, so you may be surprised to learn that these runners do belong to me too. They only look so new because normally they’re only used for the gym (they’re about a year old, in fact). And despite the suspicious lack of wear, I do actually do more at the gym than lean on the water cooler and wave the lightest weights around. Hence the mention of debilitating knee ailments above.

Final_goodbyeI know “Partners In Crime” isn’t exactly a favourite among Doctor Who fans (especially ones who think every episode should be like a combination of Peter F Hamilton and Aliens), but I have a real soft spot for the season four opener. I love the interweaving Doctor/Donna storylines, culminating in that brilliant mime scene with Miss Foster interjecting, “Are we interrupting?” And – totally going against the tide of fandom opinion – I love the Adipose. I still grin like a five-year old watching a Disney film when one of the little guys waves goodbye and I was stupidly excited when one of them had a cameo  in “The End Of Time, Part Two”. This should not be a shocker from a man wh lists How To Train Your Dragon amongst his favourite films.

That’s yer lot for today, because my bipolar job (half of it makes me extremely happy, the other half is all doom and gloom) is going to keep me very busy today. Exciting time next week, but I won’t be ignoring The Sole Of Sci-Fi. If a certain package ever arrives from Amazon (I think it must be being posted from the Amazon) there’ll be a jade-hued sequel to yesterday’s blog.

Love your shoes (or send them to me).

Usual sign off:

Current total: £335 (Yay! Crept up again yesterday!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

