Day 24: The Day Of The Fred

Perry makes an appearance on today’s installment of the 365-day charity challenge, but sadly we don’t mean Doctor Who’s famously busty companion…

Jan 24 Main Main

If I were to say, “Here are a pair of Perrys,” there are some male Doctor Who fans of a certain age who might misunderstand and get a little bit misty-eyed.

nicola-bryantNo I’m not suddenly coming over all Carry On, and we’re not talking about this pair of Peri’s (to the right – though, it’s a good excuse to remind ourselves). We’re talking Fred Perry trainers (above). These are the only Fred Perry shoes I own; in fact, the only Fred Perry attire of any sort I own. Not got anything against Fred Perry clothing; it’s a fine range with an interesting history. I just think Fred Perry clothes look far better on skinny-shanked, pigeon-chested, pinched-cheeked Mod wannabes, not stocky, overgrown Hobbits like me.

The trainers are very  cool though, so I just pretend I’m built like Paul Weller and not Paul Heaton. I didn’t notice, however, that the soles have started to come way until I saw this photo.  Godammit! Not that I need a new pair until 2015!

Oh, and in honour of this blog’s terrible pun of a title, here are some suitably customised Cons courtesy of Gabriella Mazlo.

large

I should be writing a much longer blog today, as  a flurry of media activity yesterday (I was in the Bath Chronicle – oh the giddy heights of fame) has suddenly meant that the Challenge has taken on new life. But more on that tomorrow ’cos I overselpt this morning and I’m massively behind schedule.

Usual sign off:

Current total: £355 – increasing nicely thank you!

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

