Day 29: You’re Going Home On Some Skechers

HULK SMASH! The 365-day trainer challenge reaches a brand with a bit of an image problem… 

jan 29 main

The theme this week was supposed to be (and still is) a week of all-donated trainers, but it’s also turning into a week of green trainers. And all that gamma radiation seems to be having an effect on me. Don’t make me hungry. You wouldn’t like me when I’m hungry. Where are the Hobnobs?

Today, I’m wearing Skechers. And I took the bus. Which was full of school kids. And I’ve never felt so self-conscious about what I was wearing. I was convinced they were all pointing and whispering to each other, “Urgh, there’s some old guy wearing teenage girls’ tainers. Gross.”

Because, yeah, Skechers may be trying desperately to enter the trendy, male running shoe market, but to me Skechers are still associated with ads featuring stars like  Britney Spears or the Kardashians, and that lawsuits where their “shape-up” sneakers were accused of allegedly “crippling” women who preferred their gym wear to be pretty rather than functional.

jan 29 solesThese are  called Go Run with an M in a circle after it, presumably to hammer home they are for MEN! “Look! We’re grey! Women won’t wear grey! Grey is MANLY!” The soles also look bizarrely like something out of an ’80s horror film, probably directed by David Cronenberg.

Having said all that, they are rather comfy, but in a strolling on the beach way. Personally I wouldn’t want to run too far in them. Unless it was through mud so the logos camouflaged pretty quick.

(Today’s main photo, by the way, was taken by Adrian Hill, because I could press the camera’s buttons with my Hulk hands.)

Usual sign off:

Current total: £385… yep, still going up nicely

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

