Day 30: The Empire Nikes Back*: Imperial Walkers

Some like it Hoth in today’s installment of the 365-day trainer challenge (* A pun that works or not depending on how you insist on pronouncing, “Nikes”)

Jan 30 5

Here are a true pair of imperial walkers, a phrase which, post-1980 always immediately brings to mind the battle on Hoth in The Empire Strikes Back, but pre-1980 must have sounded more like an alternative brand of Zimmer frame.

I kinda don’t feel worthy of wearing these. Or that I should be rapping today’s blog, Which I won’t. Because that would be cringey. Like Bruce Forsyth breakdancing.

They are not only an on-loan pair of trainers – once again donated mighty Steve Gotobed; they’re also a pair he’s going to let me auction on eBay, the proceeds of which will go to the charity Sole Of Sci-Fi is supporting – Alzheimer’s Research UK (have I mentioned before that they’re seriously underfunded and every pound you donate pays for three minutes of vital research?).

So let’s have a better look at what you could be bidding on:

Jan 30 6

They are a pair of Nike Court Force Hi Premiums, and no, those scratches on the front aren’t signs of wear, they’re detailing (please note: this is not sarcasm!). They’ve only been worn a few times and they come in the original box. There’s a great little cartoon on the tongues:

Jan 30 tongue 1

Haven’t been able to find out much about them online, but they seem to be a limited edition World Cup pair of Nikes (there’s certainly a football in that cartoon), and there’s some text in German on the inside (which I tried to Google translate but it’s in such an over-the-top Teutonic font I can’t quite make it out). This seems to signify we’re talking the 2006 World Cup here. Which is odd because they’re also listed as having been released in 2007. Whatever… they’re a great, great pair of kicks and they’ll be on eBay imminently. I’ll let you know when through the usual avenues.

Thanks again, Steve! You are clearly a trainer connoisseur (but I love the fact you wear plain black Converse mostly).

Spent far too long on the blog today. Tons and tons of work to to today, and I’ve just discovered I’m on the RoboCop press junket next week. Please put cynicism aside – it’s actually really good according to the guy who’s reviewed ir for SFX. I get to see it on Monday. Hmmm, what trainers should I wear?

Usual sign off:

Current total: £385m (be good to make £400 by the end of January, hint, hint)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

