Day 32: The TARDIS Secondary Con-Sole Room

Cons? Soles? Console room? Geddit? Welcome to another puntastic day on the 365-day charity challenge.

Feb 1 main

Perhaps this is how the TARDIS console room should have looked during the Converse-lovin’ tenth Doctor’s era. Or maybe not. And why stick at one Cons-sole gag when you can have two? I knew there was a reason I never chucked all those old games consoles. Because yeah, years ago I thought, “You know what? One day I’m going to need that Nintendo 64 for a miniature TARDIS set built from shoes.” Honest.

Feb 1 3

Today’s trainers are a pair of classic black Converse OX low tops with the addition of some orange laces co-opted from a long-gone pair of Pumas. By the rules of this challenge, because they’re low tops I can also wear some black high tops later in the year. And I couldn’t go a whole year without a pair of black high tops, could I? In fact, Jordan expressed surprise in the pub last night I’d got this far without wearing them.

Tomorrow I’m going to be looking back at some January stats on the challenge, but I may as well trumpet the main one now: THE TOTAL RAISED BROKE £400 YESTERDAY. Thank you very much to everyone who has donated so far. (And yes Rhian, I did notice you’d donated again – muchly appreciated. Prisoner fan?)

dalekI also got sent some trainers for the challenge yesterday from Dom Carter who did some work experience on SFX recently. Thanks Dom, but, erm… why did a decapitated Dalek fall out of one of them? Are you trying to tell me something?

Anyway, I’m actually back in the office, because after launching Comic Review yesterday, I have about a zillion emails I was ignoring in the deadline scrum, that now demand attention. Actually, It’s quite pleasant working in a deserted office on a Saturday, so no, I’m not after sympathy.

But as ever, I am after trainers.

Usual sign off:

Current total: £420 (a BRILLIANT day for donations yesterday!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

2 thoughts on “Day 32: The TARDIS Secondary Con-Sole Room

Leave a Reply

