Day 37: Superdry Guy

Back in black for a pair from Urban Outfitter’s reliably-overpriced house brand range of clothing. The charity challenge in aid of Alzheimer’s Research UK continues…

Feb 6 main

Nothing is certain in life except death and taxes and being overcharged for anything you buy from Urban Outfitters. Somehow, this shop has managed to buck the trend during these times of austerity, and convince us to spend at least 50% more on any coat, jeans, shirt or trainers than we would anywhere else by sticking the brand name Superdry and a bit of Japanese text on them.

Feb 6 japanese

It’s genious. And, yeah, I’ve fallen for it too on a number of occasions. Well, there’s something so irresistably stylish about a bit of Japanese text, isn’t there? Though I’ve always had the suspicion that if you translated it, you’d discover it says, “Sucker!”

So, yeah, this pair of pumps that’d be a tenner in Debenhams were about £25 in Urban Outfitters. But, hey, the blue detailing and funky little plastic label was worth it. Possibly. Maybe.

Feb 6 DorchesterAnyway, here’s yesterday’s trainers in the Dorchester hotel while I was waiting outside the door for my Gary Oldman interview. He was great, and revealed that the original Solaris and The Quatermass Xperiment are his favourite sci-fi films. Personally, I love to see a new Quatermass film starring Gary Oldman. And in case you missed it yesterday, there’s a mini review of RoboCop on Day 36 of the blog.

BECOME A SOLE SEARCHER

Donations are going well, and hits on the blog are up spectacularly… but the supply of trainers is drying up. I have a few ideas and leads I need to follow up (hey, this is a challenge, it’s not supposed to be easy) but you can help me by becoming a Sole Searcher. If you aren’t size eights, nines, or tens yourself, I bet you know someone who is! Go on, convince them, to help out this mad man on the internet. Remember, I will return any pairs if they’re needed back. And hey, they may end up in the same room as a star like Oldman!

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £435  (another tenner yesterday!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

