Day 39: The Not-Really-Speeder Bike Scene

There’s a storm coming, and I don’t mean metaphorically like Sarah Connor at the end of Terminator. So cue a trashable pair for a cycle into work…

Feb 8

Off to work shortly. Yes, I know it’s Saturday, but anyone who follows me on Twitter will know that yesterday was fraught. Getting issue two of Comic Review to press was like the thirteenth labour of Hercules, which means I’m already behind for next week, and some major catching up is required.

And yes, I’m cycling. Despite the storm warnings for the West. But I seriously need to get this bike serviced, so it’s only one way on the bike; bus back. This winter has taken its toll on my trusty Giant Boulder Shock (how sci-fi is that name for a bike?): the brakes don’t work; I can only access about three gears (out of 21); and the suspension is shagged. Still, it’s over 10 years old and I love it.

But that also means I’m not wearing any of my decent trainers, because the ride in is going to be wet and muddy. Luckily I’ve been given this pair of Asics for the challenge by a mate who said they were only any good for trashing. They actually look better in the photo above than they actually are… so let’s try this from another angle…

Feb 8 close up

Don’t think I’ll be auctioning these on eBay. (Hang on… talk about timing – literally just has an email alert that I’m the winning bidder on pair of Adidas for the challenge! £8! Not bad, and the look in great nick. Is that a teaser for upcoming Sole Of Sci-Fi blog, or what?)

Speaking of cycling, the bike shoes week I promised is coming. It would have been next week, except that next week has two days that cry out for some special attention, and not the kind that would include bike shoes.

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £445  (come on – let’s get £500 before the end of February!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

