Day 46: Heavy Metal Time

“The mediator between head and hands must be the trainers!” Metropo-laceless trainers for today’s 365-day charity challenge…

Feb 15 e

Day 45 and I’m resorting to puns like Metropo-lacelss? God knows what the blog is going to be like by Day 362… But hey, a Metropolis/Vans crossover – it kinda makes sense in my reality.

vans_classicsliponmetallicakillemall_blacktruewhite_shoes_lgAnd both these clock are – literally – heavy metal. I’m not joking; however heavy you think they look in these photos, they’re three times as heavy in real life.

Meanwhile, black Vans slip-ons are beloved of heavy metal bands and their fans; Vans are always releasing customised versions like these ones to the left, allegedly designed  by Metallica.

66969_1I gotta admit, though, I prefer the subtle pimping on this pair on the right by Metallica guitarist Kirk Hammett; just an orange tab and (though you can’t see it) an embossed Metallica logo on the heel. But I don’t get the feeling that many metal fans are into subtlety. We are talking about a group of fans, remember, who have kept flaming Converse hi-tops popular for over three decades. I wish I’d bought a pair of these Hammett ones, though, when they were available; I’m not much of a metal fan, but anyone who likes any kind of music can appreciate that Metallica are among the very best at what they do, I love a couple of their tracks and, more to the point, and I really like the orange tab. Orange and black is always a great trainer colorway (that’s sneaker jargon there), and yes, I do have a great pair in that combination coming up.

Anyway, in case you clicked through for the fantastic clock rather than the shoes, here’s that fab Metropolis timepiece in all its glory. It does belong to me, and I’ve had it for years, but I’ve completely forgotten how I came to acquire it. I know I didn’t buy it… so it must have been a freebie at work, but I seriously cannot recall the details! Anyway, it’s seriously cool. If you’re a geek.

Feb 15 f

I love the movie, and own about eight different versions of it on video, DVD and Blu-ray including the godawful ’80s one with Freddie Mercury and Bonnie Tyler warbling on the ill-advised electropop soundtrack. It has a kitsch value all its own, and if nothing else, Queen deserve some credit for introducing me to Metropolis in the first place via the ”Radio Gaga” video.

Remember, I’m doing this all for charity, so please donate!

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £455  

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

