Day 49: Mulder And Scally

The X-Files investigates Tongue-guska in  the latest instalment of the 365-day charity challenge for Alzheimer’s Research UK…

X-Files a

 

Okay, I’m not really a scally (I’ve been to Liverpool once, but that was by mistake… being a soft Southerner as soon as I drove North of Birmingham I panicked and took a wrong exit off the M6). And if I were a real scally, I’d be wearing Lonsdale trackie bottoms and stamping out a fag end. But hey it’s worth it for the pun.

Besides, it’s a chance to look at a classic SFX cover – issue four in fact – with Mulder staring out at you like Big Brother. We used to like extreme close-ups in those days. And look… some spooky effect at Tongue-guska has turned me into a UFO!

X-Files c

The trainers are a pair of Adidas ‘The Sneekers”. Hideous name for a pleasingly iconic design which, according to the sales blurb when Adidas launched this line in 2010, “dates back to 1979”. That was indeed around the time that the Scally fashion look – based on sports brands rather than Doc Martens and Fred Perry – began to take shape on the terraces of Liverpool FC. Admittedly, there’s no way any UK trainers would have dared called itself “Sneeker” back then, and girly green stripes would have probably gotten you beaten up as some kind of shirt lifter (it was all manly black and blue Sambas and Gazelles with white stripes). But these do still have timeless quality about them.

Here endeth the fashion history lesson of the day. See you tomorrow!

UPDATE: Just arrived in the office and found three pairs of on-loan trainers waiting for me. Thanks everybody!

Everybody else who hasn’t donated yet, please do!

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £455  

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

