Day 50: I Am The Kha-lace-i

Here are my dragons. 50 days into the 365-day charity challenge and it’s time to go Westeros, (not-so) young man…

Dragons e

Winter is… hanging around. But Game Of Thrones is coming. The fourth season is here in March and it looks like it could be the best season yet. Hell, Mark Gatiss is in it and we’re promised a battle to top Blackwater!

BestI’m sure there’ll be another Thrones-themed blog nearer the time (probably featuring much tomato ketchup and a pair of trainers that don’t mind being hacked to pieces) but in the meantime, here’s my tribute to one of my favourite characters. You may have noticed a lot of pics of her on the SFX website when I used to edit it; I couldn’t help it – she’s very screen grabbable.

ToothlessPlus, I love dragons. As I’ve mentioned before in this blog, How To Train Your Dragon is one of my favourite films, and Toothless is one of the greatest fire-breathers ever. I say that as someone who, on seeing him in a still for the first time long before the film came out, thought, “Urgh, he  looks like Stitch (from Lilo And…) dipped in tar!” But in the actual film, his cat-like, inky sleekness makes perfect sense, and he’s animated to perfection. Can’t wait for the sequel.

Vermithrax Pejorative

Vermithrax Pejorative

Also love Vermithrax Pejorative from Dragonslayer, and the Hungarian Hornback from the Potter movies, but got no time for Draco in Dragonheart (God, even the name is dull, sorry Sean) or Pete’s Dragon Elliot (’cos he looks like he’s wearing an Elton John wig). Spiro is a dude, too.

Smaug – wussy.

Smaug – wussy.

Was a bit disappointed in Smaug in Hobbit 2: he looked fantastic and Bandersnatch Cumberland (the man with the name spellchecker loves) did a superb job voicing him. But God, Smaug made a meal out of killing a few Dwarves. They were sitting targets most of the time, and he still couldn’t aim his flame in the right direction. Bark worst than bit, clearly.

So yeah, I’ve got a lot of Dragons around the house. They keep the otters happy. And this isn’t all of ’em. Got to save some for the release of How To Train Your Dragon 2.

Dragons alone

Today’s trainers are some Converse OX Slim, a style I’ve always been a bit dubious about. They ten to make it look like you toes are curling up. I bought these cheap, second-hand from somebody else at work last year (apparently he got two pairs for Christmas!) just to see if I like them better on. I do, but not that much. And they only go with certain jeans – they look weird with boot cut.

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £455  

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

