Day 51: Clockwork Orange

Greetings, droogs. Viddy my choodessny sabogs! * (*Nadsat for “Hello friends. Look at my great shoes!”) The charity challenge post that I might ban for 20 years for being misunderstood so that it takes on a cult status…

Orange d

Gotta admit, these gorgeously garish Adidas are so radioactively DayGlo, I’m worried about the fact that I live on the flight path for the approach to Bristol airport. And you get a burst of Nadsat because I could only think of two orange-related science fiction gags, and the other one involved me being struck by lightning in a freak storm, which I didn’t fancy. Though the superpowers afterwards could have been fun… if they’d been flying or super strength or something, and not lactokinesis or turning into a tortoise.

(In fact, maybe I have been affected by that freak storm, and what you don’t realise is that I’m invisible from the knees upwards.)

Got these trainers off eBay for about a fiver (see the lengths I’m going to for this charity). Other than that they’re Adidas not sure what style they are or anything about them because there’s no name on them anywhere to do Google search on. But for a fiver they’re in very good nick.

Orange f

One trick I’ve already learnt about buying footwear on eBay is: go for half sizes. Few people ever put 8.5 or 9.5 into a search so at the end there’s not much of a bidding war going on. I may regret letting you into that secret…

Orange clock 2The clock came from a little arty shop in Lyme Regis, and I spent far too much money on it ’cos it looked like something out of a Tim Burton film. I used to know who the artist/sculptor was but I lost the little label ages ago. If any out there has any information, I’d love to know. At the time there were some similarly-styled fantasy grandfather clocks in the shop too (not full size, about a couple of feet – no pun intended) and I’d love to know if they’re still available.

Anyway, another Thursday, another day of Comic Review hell. Actually, it’s my favourite part of the job, but it is intense producing a weekly magazine on top of all my other work.

See you tomorrow, droogs.

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £455  

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

One thought on “Day 51: Clockwork Orange

Leave a Reply

