Day 62: Silent Running

With a guest appearance from R-SOLE-D2, some Brooks runners in the latest 365-day charity challenge…

March 3 main

Sorry, I’m so, so sorry. I just couldn’t help myself. A while back on the blog I quipped that some cycling shoes made it look like the cyclists were wearing a pair of R2-D2s on their feet. But the more I looked at yesterday’s Nikes and today’s very shiny Brooks trainers (loaned by Cycling Plus editor Rob Spedding) the more I realised that a lot of running trainers look like R2D2 too.

And lo… R-SOLE-D2.

But to make sense of the title of today’s blog, here’s a pic of the plant me and my droid are taking care of . And if you don’t get why… then learn your classics, dude!

March 3 b

Never worn a pair of Brooks before, mainly because it looked like the company had to make do with the last logo on the shelf. If anybody from Brooks would like to enlighten me what the logo represents, please do. I say that because I know from my Twitter feed that I’ve a few Brooks-related Twitterers followed me at the weekend, which reminded me that Rob said a while back that I could borrow these for the charity challenge at some point. So this one’s especially for my new Brooks followers.

I like ’em, by the way. Really comfy, great to run in (I did a couple of km in them this morning because I didn’t cycle in today and felt I needed some exercise) and a good design that doesn’t rely on a zillion different colours.

R2D2BlueBut they do look a bit like a Star Wars droid.

Oh, and if anyone wants to promote Sole Of Sci-Fi round the ’net, feel free to cop R-SOLE_D2 here and share. Shameless? Me?

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £530 (another tenner yesterday – thank you!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

