Day 63: Where No Vans Have Gone Before

Today’s trainers are boldly glowing… Support me in my 365-day charity challenge!

March 4 c

“The retinas cannae take it!” Spock and Kirk leap into action to save a dying planet from some giant DayGlo pumps threatening to go thermonuclear. “It’s footwear, Jim, but not as we know it.”

March 4 squirrelThis stunningly accurate recreation of a lost episode of original Star Trek – “The Plimsolls On The Edge Of Forever” – comes complete with a genuine polystyrene rock (and not really a freaky, sculpted squirrel I half inched from the Future craft titles this morning – well, it’s been hanging about the office scaring the unwary for weeks now, so I thought I’d put it to good use).

And if anybody can come up with a good Wrath Of Khan/trainers crossover pun, there will be a sequel to today’s instalment… (Hell, even if you don’t there will be anyway).

While these blogs are fun, there’s a story in a number of newspapers today that reminds us all why I’m doing this year-long challenge. Actor Timothy West describes the pain of slowly losing his wife, Fawlty Towers actress Prunella Scales, to Alzheimer’s. It’s an anguish so many people have to endure, and it’s good to have a sobering reminder of the soul at the centre of Sole Of Sci-Fi. Let’s help Alzheimer’s Research UK try to find ways to combat this cruel, mind-robbing affliction.

The latest SFX Special Edition will be sent to the printers today. Here’s a sneak preview:

SFXS65.sci_1-1

 

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £530

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Day 63: Where No Vans Have Gone Before

  1. Bob says:

    “I’ll say this for him, he’s “Cons” sistent…” Best WoK/trainer quote I can think of off the top of my head… ☺

Leave a Reply

