Day 69: Don’t You Open That Trap Door!

Boni and Berk return! Sort of… The latest instalment of the Sole OF Sci-Fi charity challenge revisits a children’s TV classic.

March 10 c

Who remembers Trap Door? Anyone wh0 follows me on Twitter knows I do, because Berk is doing his various nuts as my avatar (a phrase that will only make sense if you watched the show or you’re ’im upstairs).

220px-Trap_Door_The_Trap_Door_DVD

Trap Door was a fabulous stop-motion, five-minute episodes kids’ cartoon from the mid ’80s, full of hugely imaginative plasticine monsters, with a voiceover from Wille Rushton. Each week monsters would escape through the trap door in the dungeon of a marvelously gothic castle, and manservant Berk would have to try to get them back down the trap door before his master – the never-seen  (but very deep v-iced) “’im upstairs” – discovered the calamity. Boni the skull would look and give not very helpful advice.

Some of the monsters of the week were works of genius. My favourites were the ones that begain as eggs, that hatched into cute caterpillar things, that then exploded into custard that filled the entire dungeon. Surreal and brilliant, and the way the caterpillar frantically waved their antennae just before exploding is one of my most-loved little pieces of stop-motion animation character detail ever.

March 10 b 3

And forget Ulysses 31 and Dogtanian; Trap Door had the best cartoon theme song and opening title sequence ever:

Anyway, these Converse mid-tops are almost exactly the same shade of blue as Berk, and I made this Fimo Boni years ago, so I thought I’d marry them together in a Trap Door tribute blog. I actually made a Fimo Berk as well, but I can’t find him anywhere. I think the Flyin’ Wotsit Thingies must have got him.

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £550 (Thanks to Wendy Mann for her donation yesterday!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

