Day 74: Vote Sole Of Sci-Fi!

Place your tick – or Nike Swoosh – here…

March 15 main

Think of today’s blog as a reboot (no pun intended… for a change). If it were a comic it would be an Issue Zero. As The Sole Of Sci-Fi Challenge is now officially a fifth of the way through its 365-day run – and I’ve acquired a very generous and appreciative band of followers – it’s time to get new people on board.

So today is a Best Of… in visual form, with the added bonus that you can vote for your favourites (up to five) at the bottom.

It’s been specifically designed as a showcase for newcomers, so, my loyal band of existing followers, feel free to let the ’net know about it. Blog, Tweet, post a link on forums…

It’s also cynically got a picture of a rare(ish) Doctor Who comic (the first ever US Doctor Who comic) in the main “photo of the day” because Doctor Who always gets me a few more hits… And it also gives me a chance to post this (which was used a filler in the issue) surely the worst professional artwork ever commissioned in the name of Doctor Who

March 15 Doctor Who

It”s actually by respected X-Men artist David Cockrum, who clearly spent about three minutes on it. Two-and-a-half minutes of that on Pertwee’s hair. Not quite sure, either, why Peter Cushing is about to be attacked by an uncooked pizza base.

IF YOU ARE NEW…

…Then Sole Of Sci-Fi is a charity event in aid of Alzheimer’s Research UK, a very worthy cause in serious need of some extra funding.

I won’t explain it all here, because I want to wow you with the pretty pictures first. But there’s an explanaion of what’s going on at the bottom of this blog.

feb-22-e2

Day 53: Tread Or Alive You’re Coming With Me

feb-17-a1

Day 48: The Lost Shoe Size Conspiracy

jan-26-teeth

Day 26: The Vans-pires

feb-1-main

Day 32: The TARDIS Secondary Cons-Sole Room

march-13-main-21

Day 72: The Inevitable Fate Of All Star Trek Red Shoes

march-3-main

Day 62: Silent Running

march-10-b-3

Day 69: Don’t You Open That Trap Door

march-8-main

Day 67: The Inception Filter

march-7-main

Day 66: Blade Runners

jan-18-stan-wars

Day 18: Star Wars Episode Shoe: Return Of The Velcro

march-6-b

Day 65: Behold! The Sole Of Rassilon!

jan-11-main

Day 11: Along Came A Spider

march-4-c

Day 63: Where No Vans Have Gone Before

e280a2-p1030206

Day  15: Lost Property

jan-31-4

Day 31: I Am Number (A)Six

jan-30-5

Day 30: The Empire Nikes Back: Imperial Walkers

jan-25-main-2

Day 25: All Day I Dream About Street Fighter

jan-23-b21

Day 23: Adidasipose Or Adiposidas?

jan-7-1-1

Day 7: Prepare For Cyber Convers-ion

jan-5-31-1

Day 5: And Adventure In Lace And Time

feb-26-main

Day 57: Grey’s Anatomy

feb-14

Day 45: The Valentine’s Day Massacre

feb-9-b4

Day 40: 2001: A Lace Odyssey

feb-6-main

Day 37: Superdry Guy

feb-2b

Day 33: The Trash Compactor

So, what’s Sole Of Sci Fi All about?

The simple idea is this. I wear a different pair of trainers every day in 2014, then post some sci-fi related pic to this blog and Twitter.

Trouble is, I don’t own 365 pairs of trainers, so I’m begging, borrowing, swapping and getting pairs any way I can.

I don’t keep any. This is not a way of expanding my trainer collection (other than pairs I buy myself, of course). Loaned trainers will be either returned, sold at car boot sales or auction on eBay (if they’re in good enough condition) proceeds going to the charity.

It may sound not sound like much of a challenge, but believe me, as the year’s going on I’m having to get more and more creative about both sourcing trainers and coming up with the photoshoots. They actually take up a lot of my time and it’s beginning to take over my life bit.

So, if you’re new to Blog, welcome. I hope you buy into the silliness of it. And please, please donate!

And feel free to browse through the forum archives. Some of the images above might make more sense. Especially why I’m wearing odd shoes on Day 48.

Usual sign-off:

Current total: £560 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so we can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

One thought on “Day 74: Vote Sole Of Sci-Fi!

  1. Pingback: Day 75: The Two Minion Dollar Man | The Sole Of Sci-Fi

Leave a Reply

