Day 85: Flaming Trainers And A Massive Fail

Flame on! A quick fix to a massive fail in today’s charity blog…

March 26 b

Nobody told me there’d be days like this. To be fair, nobody knew I’d be doing a year-long charity challenge to wear a different pair of trainers every day for 2014, take a sci-fi-related photo of me wearing them and then write a blog about it. Because nobody thought I was that mad.

Today’s pic is a quick fix because the photo I had planned really wasn’t working. It would have worked if I’d had the right camera, access to Photoshop , a laptop that doesn’t crash every five minutes and the decent lights that I use for indoor stuff. Unfortunately they’re all at work – an 8-mile cycle away – because I forgot I had a doctor’s appointment this morning and didn’t bring them home last night.

I did try Plan A. Because these Nike’s look like they’re wearing little DayGlo orange jackets there was a whole Misfits vibe going on.

FAIL!

March 26 fail

 

So, you get a Human Torch reference instead.

March 26 a

It’s a shame today’s shoot is a not very satisfactory botch job replacement, because the trainers themselves are among my favourites of the year so far. They’re a pair of Nike Roshe Runs, a style which is currently very hot amongst trainers snobs; you’re supposed to wear them with skinny jeans and roll-ups that end half way down your shin and no socks. Sadly I don’t have the skinny legs for the skinny jeans.

They’re unbelievably comfy, the lines are classically simple and they retain a strong and instantly recognisable silhouette no matter what colour combination they come in. They usually retail at a ridiculous price, but I got these on eBay for £28. I’m allowing them in the challenge under the “I would have naturally bought these in a normal year” anyway clause, and they won’t get sold on. Hey, my charity challenge – I can bed the rules.

 

USUAL SIGN OFF:

Current total: £585

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

