Day 86: Terminator Sole-vation

It’s Judgment Day. Have you seen these shoes?

March 27b red-eye

Come with me if you want live a geek life. But you probably knew that already.

Planning to have a big Terminator day on 4 August (don’t tell me I need to explain?) but as I picked up this great little Terminator toy in The Lanes in Brighton at the weekend, and today’s trainers look like something left over from the ’80s, I could’t resist a bit of naked Arnie action (erm, if you get my drift) sooner.

The shoes arrived mysteriously on Monday, packed in an “Emiticon Pets” box and sent to “Dave Gold”. Turns out that one my most avid followers. Zoe, had ordered them on eBay and got them sent straight to me, so she was as bemused by the wacky packing as I was.

Never heard of Twisted Faith as a brand but some Googling suggests it’s a Debenham’s label. I don’t know whether the Emoticons Pets box has Derren Browned me in some way, but they really look like kids’ trainers to me, the cheap ones mum would buy in Asda for little Spike before he’s old enough to demand that wears expensive Nikes like all his mates, because otherwise he’ll become a playground outcast, shunned and spurned by the school trainer police.

March 27 close-up

But hey, thanks Zoe, that’s the spirit of this challenge. I’ll wear anything. My street cred means nothing to me and it takes me a day nearer to my goal.

Speaking of which, remember those offensively green Zoot running shoes from early in the Challenge? Another even more offensively green pair of Zoot running shoes made their way into the Cycling magazine’s freebie box this week. Guess who’s got them now. Have your sunglasses at the ready.

Comic Review day so must get on. See you back here tomorrow, which, for my Future Publishing pals is pay day. So I will be nagging the surprisingly high number of stingey gits I know here who haven’t sponsored me yet! YOu have been warned.

 

USUAL SIGN OFF:

Current total: £585 (come on, let’s get to £600 before the end of March)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

