Day 88: Shoe Ya Gonna Call?

Velcro versus Marshmallow in the latest installment of the charity challenge…

March 29 a

Although I’ve so far avoided the obvious “Doctor Shoe” headline in this challenge, the shoe/pun was too irresistible not to use for a Ghostbusters-themed photo (Stay Puft Marshmallow Man courtesy of Jordan Farley… not that he actually knows he’s been kidnapped).

The trainers are a pair I picked up a few tears back in a cheap trainer shop (you know the kind of shop I mean… where the staff all have massive bellies crew cuts and look like the only sport they ever indulge in is darts). I was due to play squash that night, but had forgotten and was wearing a pair of trainers with black soles (there are big signs outside the squash courts we use saying NO BLACK SOLES – I always imagine the floor will turn electric if I step on court in a pair of Nike Dunks, leaving just a smoking pair of trainers behind).

FLAMING NIKES

So I picked these Lonsdales up for a fiver… and I’ve probably worn them about twice since (this being the second time). Well, you know how much I hate Velcro fastenings and these have not three but four on each trainer. They’re like failed cycling shoes. Oddly, they don’t look half as bad in the photo as they do in real life. Though I do feel I ought to be wearing trackie bottoms to complete the look.

Great to have made the £600 mark before the end of March, but I still reckon I have a lot of lurkers out there who are enjoying the daily photos but not put their hands in their pockets yet! So come on – cough up!

See you tomorrow.

USUAL SIGN OFF:

Current total: £600 (made it thanks to Rhian Drinkwater, but that doesn’t mean you don’t have to add to the total!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

