Day 92: Off To The Fortress Of Sole-itude

Faster than a speeding milk float, it’s SuperVans, in the latest installment of the 365-day charity challenge…

April 2 main

It’s deadline day for Comic Heroes #23, and believe me I’m going to feel like retreating to the Fortress of Solitude once it’s all over. This issue has been a far from smooth ride, and I’m shattered. I actually fell  asleep half way through Shetland last night, so I’m going to have to iPlayer it tonight to find out who the murderer was. And I love Shetland. It wasn’t like I was bored. Just 100% knackered.

April 2 shoesThe shoes are another pair on loan from Zoe Gould, one of the biggest supporters of Sole Of Sci-Fi. Must admit I was a little worried when she said there were some purple Vans on the way because I’d just bought a purple pair off eBay (£3! They were the ones I wore on Day 90 and I reckon they’ll make a tidy profit for the charity at a car boot sale). But when these arrived in the post yesterday they luckily turned out to be more burgundy than purple.

burgundy

A burgundy air force jacket. So 1983 it hurts.

I remember a time in the early ’80s when Burgundy was the coolest colour in the playground. All the guys wore burgundy. Burgundy trousers. Burgundy shoes. Burgundy waffle-knit jumpers. I recall proudly wearing my burgundy Fred Perry tank top under my burgundy air force jacket (which never went well with the oirange lining).

dr_who_tom_bakerLooking back I often wonder if this was first (only?) time in the show’s history that Doctor Who was actually a trendsetter? After all, in 1980, just before the burgundy revolution hit the playgrounds, Tom Baker’s fourth Doctor had suddenly adopted an all-Burgundy costume. Not even Tennant’s Converse or Smith’s bow ties or Fez had that much of an effect on popular culture!

On another note, here’s a Thank You card I received from my friend Jayne Nelson yesterday which she bought because it made her laugh, and I’m posting for the same reason.

April 2 spider

Finally for today (because I really need to get on with that deadline), our floor in the Future offices has become a graveyard of printers.  All this lot…

photo (5)

photo (4)…have been replaced by this one smug-looking newbie on the left. I genuinely fear some kind of sci-fi style printer uprising, as the old guard form some kind of gestalt AI consciousness and start a robot revolution.

Meanwhile, the new guy has all sorts of whizzy functions (I swear I saw someone extract a cappuccino from its innards yesterday) but actually printing stuff seems to be a talent it has yet to master with any efficiency.

Vive la revolution!

USUAL SIGN OFF:

Current total: £685 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers
Dave G

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

