Day 95: Inspector Lace Time

Some trainers in desperate need of regeneration in the latest installment of the 365-day charity challenge

April 5 c

After yesterday’s brief return to smartness, it’s back to the Pete Bayly Knackered Collection today, and another pair of trainers that have seen better days. At least this pair had some soles left. The Bayly pair I wore on Thursday were so worn smooth I was literally (and I’m a journo, so I use that word as intended) sliding around on the office carpet.

I’ve tried regenerating them a bit with some new laces. The original ones snapped when I tried to knot them. They now look like the footwear equivalent of putting double glazing in a run-down lean-to.

But, hey, they’re another pair that’ll be good for the BIG PLAN I have for tomorrow.

Today’s headline is inspired by the fact that I watched a fantastic animated episode of Community this morning. I love Community but wasn’t so keen on the animated Christmas episode a couple of seasons back, but this latest skit on GI JOE was just genius.

communityAnd so, since I’d replaced the trainers’ laces, I needed a lace pun, and Community provided the answer with it Doctor Who-inspired fictional show-within-a-show, Inspector Space Time. I’m not quite how that lead to me taking a photoshoot of me trampling all over some early issues of Doctor Who Weekly – possibly inciting the ire of fans outraged that I could treat such valuable memorabilia in such a fashion in the process – but I just liked the idea of showing off that I’ve got all the early issues. Russell in the SFX office is always aghast at how poorly I treat old mags and comics, but I’ve never been a buy-for-investment person.

Besides, there are no free transfers on the cover of the first issue (or any free gifts left on any of the issues) so it’s probably worth zilch. They were made to be played with, and that’s what I did. Here they are, transferred into place onto the impressive Dave Gibbons drawn pic on the inside page of issue one. As they should be!

April 5 inside

trophyWon the quiz last night. Tried to take a photo proving that I was wearing trainer-shoes in a gentlemen’s club but was a bit merry by that point, and incapable of working out light levels, so you’ll have to trust me that the black blobs at the bottom are my trainer-shoes. The jacket thing is actually the trophy. The badge says DW, but that doesn’t stand for Doctor Who, but rather Don Withers, the man who’s notorious for winning the quiz so many times. That’s why I was on his team. I was backing a winner.

There was a great Dingbats round. See if you can work out these two:

Dingbat 1

Dingbat 2

See you tomorrow!

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £705 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

