Day 98: A Mad Man In A Shoe Box

Blue is the colour in today’s installment of the 365-day charity challenge

April 8 d

It’s like “Logopolis” all over again… And with that headline and that opening sentence I’ve just completely lost my parents, who dutifully read this blog every day while understanding only about 5% of it. They did like the rant about Staines (Day 44), though.

Doctor Who fans should get the references. If you’re not a Doctor Who fan, then “Mad Man In The Shoe Box” is a pun on “Sad Fan In The Blue Socks” – a famous headline from The Sun from 1987, while “Logopolis” is a Tom Baker episode in which The Daleks manufacture a line of TARDIS Russian dolls.

Maybe.

April 8 shoelessThe TARDSISes have been collecting on my desk for a while now, and I think the other guys in the office have worked out there’d be a Sole Of Sci-Fi connection. There’s a key ring TARDIS, two cookie jar TARDISes (one with sound effects), a tin TARDIS that used to house “The Trial Of A Time Lord” videos and even (hidden right at the back, ashamed to show its face) that ghastly TARDIS packaging that the Christopher Eccleston season box-set of DVDs came in (now so warped out of shape it looks like a a book that’s been dropped in the bath).

My house is (normally) as full of TARDISes as it is dragons.

The trainers are the second pair of Nike Bleachers I’ve worn in the challenge. I’m beginning to really like Bleachers. Cheap(ish) but with a simple classic design, they’re also really comfy.

Believe it or not, I’m off to an awards ceremony tonight (maybe). Apparently I’ve been listed as one of the Top 50 Social Media Journalists in the UK by Press Gazette and tonight the winner is announced. I put maybe in brackets because, being a journalist, I’m naturally cynical. Y’see, I can’t actually find this list published anywhere on the internet, and I’m wondering if it’s one of those things where the list will be made up from people who actually bother to turn up to the ceremony.

Still, they don’t seem to be expecting me to pay for a ticket, so there’s nothing to lose. But the sheer lack of information about this Top 50 (apart from an announcement that it was happening back in February) makes me slightly suspicious. That, plus the fact that you’d have to be suspicious of any Top 50 list of journalists that includes me…

And I assume I’m nominated for my work on the SFX site, though it’d be hilarious it if I was actually being recognised for The Sole Of Sci-Fi!

game of thrones two swords

Oh, and adored the season four Game Of Thrones season four opener. Just saying. Opinion wasn’t swayed the by presence of dragons or lots of Dany, not at all, nosiree… (Arya was pretty damned magnificent too and Olenna Tyrell near stole the who in one brief scene again).

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £705 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

