Day 102: Great Scotts!

Cyclops doesn’t like today’s trainers. Strange. They share his name…

April 12 main 3

 

 

Scott Vs Scott. Or maybe Cyclops Vs Cyclers. Or maybe X-Man Vs BMX-Man. Okay, it’s getting really tenuous now.

Regular readers of this blog will know I’m no great fan of cycling shoes, but these are an exception. What I really don’t like are the shiny, three-Velcro-strapped, over-the-top, plasticky cycling shoes that make it look like you’ve got a couple of R2 units strapped to your feet.

These are different. They look like skate shoes and I think they look the business. But they are proper cycling shoes; the soles (and the sound you make when walking, like a drunk tap dancer) prove it; they have cleats.

April 12 sole

The brand is Scott, who make some of my favourite cycling wear. A shame they’re size eights, because they’re really tight on me. Besides, by the rules of this challenge, I can’t keep trainers that I haven’t personally bought, and these were from the Future cycling mag’s free box.

By complete coincidence, I accepted a freelance commission yesterday to write about Teen Wolf series three, which stars a character called Scott. So here, for no better reason than to fill up the blog on a weekend when I’m not up to much other than work, are science fiction’s greatest fictional Scotts (so apologies for not including the non-fictional  but totally awesome Scott Bakula but no apologies for not including notorious bigot Orson Scott Card).

Screen Shot 2011-07-23 at 18.20.19

Scott Tracy Thunderbirds


Scotty_JefferiesTube

Scotty Star Trek


Scottbernard

Scott Bernard Robotech


Scott-Pilgrim-Wallpaper-scott-pilgrim-7223937-1920-1200

Scott Pilgrim Scott Pilgrim


austin_powers_international_man_of_mystery_dr_evil_meets_scott

Scott Evil Austin Powers


Teen_Wolf_Season_3_Episode_4_Unleashed_Tyler_Posey_Scott_McCall_Wolfs_Out_Cross_Country

Scott McCall Teen Wolf


Thinking about Teen Wolf also reminded me of this: one of the oddest moments in an interview I’ve conducted ever. Enjoy…

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £715 (the total’s creeping up again! Thanks to Stephen Jewell!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers! Cheers Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

