Day 105: Are You Ready For 2000 AD-idas?

Can you believe it too the editor of Comic Heroes this long to get round to this gag?

April 15 main b

You’ll have to wait until issue two for the introduction of Judge Tread, and Brogue Trooper is a few years away, but we know you’re going to love 2000 ADidas, the exciting new comic where sci-fi meets stylish footwear. That free Space Spinner does look an awful lot like SFX’s Rich Edwards’s pair of trainers, though…

April 15 close-upI remember buying the first issue of 2000 AD. I remember losing my Space Spinner about an hour later. Didn’t really matter. The strips inside were the best thing, especially Flesh. Time travel and dinosaurs! Okay, Doctor Who had beaten them to it by a few years, but this was so much cooler. And 2000 AD was so deliciously gory! I don’t think my parents knew they were buying me the comic equivalent of Never Mind The Bollocks, Here’s The Sex Pistols.

The trainers on eBay are attracting a lot of attention but few bids at the moment. Come on, guys, I know eBay is all about the last five minutes usually, but the money here is going to charity! Let’s start the ball rolling now. Honestly, the Purple Cons are in excellent condition and the V For Vendetta Vans are a genuine collectors’ item! As for the Nikes, they’re a great looking pair, also barely worn, and well worth a tenner at least!

Interesting day ahead. Waiting on tenterhooks for a decision from a BIG INTERNATIONAL company about whether we can proceed with something. If we can’t, it’s for the most insanely bizarre reason imaginable, but I can’t talk about that yet. Maybe one day I’ll be able to reveal the tale, but it wouldn’t be politick at the moment. Plus I feel really sorry for the PR lady stuck in the middle who’s clearly trying her hardest to sort it all out.

Not a spoiler – honest

Not a spoiler – honest

And what about Game Of Thrones last night? I’m not giving away spoilers here, but it was a bittersweet experience: GRR giving us what we want with one hand, than taking away our joy with the other. Git. Genius git, mind you.

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £725

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

