Day 106: Well Heeled

A blog that would have been titled “A Night-Merrell On Elm Street” but then I sobered up

April 16 b

Meet Artie the AT-AT who I adopted in Brighton a few weeks back. He was feral then, but I’ve managed to break him in and he’s thoroughly house-trained now. But he does like to chew up shoes, and I’n not liking the way he’s got his eyes on these Merrells (especially as they’re not mine – they’re the one of the two pairs from the Bayly Collection that don’t look like they’re about to fall apart if I sneeze and Pete wants them back).

April 16 cGot to be a brief one today as it’s Comic Review Thursday. Sort of. Yeah I know it’s only Wednesday, but because there’s no Friday this week (in terms of working days) we’ve had to shift the schedule forward by a day. Anyone who knows me knows that I’d happily work through Friday too (I’m an atheist and allergic to chocolate so Easter doubly means nothing to me, especially when there’s no new series of Doctor Who) but all the people at Future Publisghing who do things like actually getting the mag posted to Apple Newsstand do like their days off, so I have to follow suit.

Still, it does mean Comic Review will be on sale a day earlier than usual, so it’ll be interesting to see that has an effect on sale.

CHM23.cover_uk.inddComic Heroes is also out on Thursday and it’s a thing of immense beauty and I want to thank designers Nicky, Mark and Jon for putting in such amazing work. It hasn’t actually been redesigned by I think you’ll notice a subtly different tone to the mag; hopefully a bit more serious and in-depth, and full of the kind of features you won’t find on the internet.

Also, the series of double page splashes at the start of the new issue of Comic Heroes also prove why there’s still a place for hard copy magazines in the world. You may have seen the same artwork on the net, but when reproduced at a large size on high quality paper they take on a whole new power. Go on, have a flick through in Smiths and you tell me those pages don’t look gorgeous.

See you tomorrow!

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £725

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

