Day 111: Spring Clean

The Sole Of Sci-Fi presents… some tat

April 21 main

I didn’t mean to start spring cleaning today, but I desperately needed some glue. Y’see, I knocked something off the windowsill in my excitement to whip back the curtains and let the sun in this morning. A Gromit money-box lost his ear (giving a new meaning to “Cracking, Gromit!”). He’s okay now, you’ll be glad to hear.

But in the frantic search through drawers and cupboards I came across a right load of sci-fi tat. It won’t surprise you to know my house is full of it, but stuff I’d forgotten I even had included:

• A Star Wars bag
• A Star Trek bag
• A lenticular ticket to an eXistenZ preview screening
• A Return Of The Jedi Official Collector’s Edition magazine (with a page falling out)
• Candles labelled dynamite (they were a PR freebie for something or other; I can’t for the life of me remember what)
• A Dalek mobile phone thingy which lights up and pulses when your phone rings (which it once did when I was using my mobile to record an interview with Anna Friel)
• Two sonic screwdrivers (one a torch, the other a Nintendo DS stylus which was actually useless as a stylus because it was near impossible to hold correctly)
• A “Ban The Lycans” badge (a PR freebie for one of the zillions of werewolf books I’ve reviewed and I honestly can’t remember which)
• And some (new) Battlestar Galactica see-through plastic playing cards.

April 21 cards

Not changing the subject, but just taking a little detour, I was massively disappointed by the results of my Sole Of Sci-Fi eBay sales, which ended yesterday. The purple Cons sold for about what I expected (£11) but the proceeds from them goes towards buying more trainers for the challenge myself. However the two pairs for which the proceeds were going straight to the charity made a mere £12.50 between them. That’s terrible. I get the feeling the yellow Vans would have sold more without the original David Lloyd art on that! What a shame.

I think I listed them well, with good, enticing photos, but clearly I did something wrong, and I feel I’ve done the charity a disservice.

So I’m going to put these Battlestar Galactica cards up for sale now. But I’m not doing it through eBay, since that was such a failure. I’m going to put a price on them – £20 – and the first person to offer me that via Twitter gets ’em. As you can see on this site, a similar pack sold for $50, so I’m not overcharging!

Today’s trainers are a pair of Pumas I’ve been donated by Martin Fahey, another name destined for the Sole Of Sci-Fi Hall of Fame. Not sure what that means in the greater scheme of things, but it means I’m grateful.

Over the next two weeks, my day job is going to be very, very busy, and I really don’t know how much time I’ll have to devote to this blog. The challenge will go on, and the photos will still be posted, but they may be a bit less extravagant than you’re used to. But normal service will be resumed. In the meantime, donations will still be eagerly received.

Have a good Easter Monday.

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £745 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

