Day 114: The Lonsdalek Invasion Of Earth

The power-made pepperpots join forces with mutant mixed-martial arts brand to invade the charity challenge…

April 24 b

“‘Sole’? I have no understanding of the word. It is not registered in my vocabulary bank. EXTERMINATE!” Daleks don’t have soles. Well, they haven’t got any feet so why would they need soles? So I’m not expecting to get many donations from any mutant Kaleds in metal casing. So we’ll leave them take over the world (again) safe in the knowledge that the Doctor will rescue us (again).

This time they have new henchmen: the LonsDaleks. Mutated from a boxing brand, this pair are somewhere between a mixed martial arts trainer and a motor racing shoe. I think the double-swoosh logo thing is supposed to represent my driving – a bit all over the ship.

April 24

These are the first of the Boo selection. One of the most loyal Sole Of Sci-Fi followers on Twitter she actually managed to convince her workmates to part with five pairs! The package arrived yesterday, and I was going to photograph the whole lot for you, but that feels a bit like spoilers. It’s an impressive selection, though. And I still have to fit in donations from Russell Lewin, Jordan Farley and  Pete Bayly on the coming days. I may even make it into May before panicking again.

Anyway, usual Thursday apology. Have to keep the blog short and to the point today because it’s not only Comic Review day but also we’re in the middle of that eight-days-to-produce-a-special chaos I may have mention once or twice. Honestly, I’m so knackered at the moment I could barely stay awake through Hannibal last night.

Hannibal season 2Speaking of which, anybody else watching season two yet? Is it just me, or are they now using the incidental “music” (or “electronic tonalities” as the musicians’ union forced them to be credited) from Forbidden Planet in the background now? I was convinced watching it last night that the serial killer was going to turn out to be the monster from the Id – I could hear its footsteps!

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £745 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

