Day 118: Feet-T Phone Home

The Sole Of Sci-Fi charity challenge is pleased to hear that ET has been excavated in New Mexico…

April 28 main b

Second spooky coincidence in as many days!

I didn’t intend to give today’s blog an ET theme. That was a last minute change when my original plan went a bit awry. Regular followers of the blog will know that I’ve been warning that some photoshoots at the moment may have to be a little simpler to set up than some of my past blockbusters because of a certain two-weeks-t0-produce-a-164-page-magazine palava. Well, I thought I’d come up with a great solution for a few days’ worth of easy-to-shoot geekery. I’d have an “SFX covers” theme week, featuring the issues whose numbers corresponded to that days of the challenge this week; in other words issues 118 to 122.

April 28 SFX spines (b)Except when I got to the office, issues 118 to 120 were missing from the collection.

Aaaarrgghhhhhh!

A fevered hunt around the office for possible props unearthed ET on Jordan’s desk. Two ETs, in fact. But the other one looked like Ann Widdecombe and was far too disturbing to use as the main image.

April 28 Ann Widdecombe

And so, rapidly coming up with the worst shoe-related pun so far in this challenge, I shot today’s blog photo.

But it appears I’m not the only one unearthing ET at the moment. It was only when I came to write the blog I saw this in my Twitter feed:

Which lead to this video:

Has Sole Of Sci-Fi suddenly become precognitive? Or is this site actually reshaping reality itself?

Maybe I should write a blog tomorrow about Trap Door and cross my fingers there’s an announcement about a film version coming out!

Today’s trainers are another pair found in the Future Publishing cycling magazines’ free giveaway box. They’re the first Mizunos of the challenge. I always think that the Mizuno logo looks like some  kind of cyborg kangaroo.

Meanwhile, it’s the end of the month, which means that pay day must be around now for a lot of you. So if you’ve been following and enjoying The Sole Of Sci-Fi and haven’t donated yet – and stats on the blog would suggest I’ve picked up a few new followers in the past couple of weeks –now’s the time to show your support for Alzheimer’s Research UK. Just a fiver can make a lot of difference to help research into combatting this mind-eating disease. Please be generous.

Usual Sign -Off:

• Current total: £755 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

