Day 121: A Tread-itional May Day Celebration

The Sole Of Sci-Fi celebrates May Day in a time-honoured British fashion…

May 1 main 2

A quick trip to the Scottish island of Summerisle today to celebrate May Day in traditional fashion. It’s a bit chilly up here and I was going to wrap up snugly in various layers, but the islanders said not to bother. Apparently it’ll be much warmer in a while.

Although the challenge is now into month five, I’m not quite a third of the way through yet, because the year starts off with the few short months. Tomorrow I will have officially reached that landmark – Day 122 (which times three is 366, so I’ll actually be ahead a little).

Today’s trainers are the first Diadoras of the challenge. The name always reminds of those old “We all adore a Kia Ora” ads and I can’t take them seriously. (I would have embedded one of the ads from YouTube, but looking at them now, I’m not entirely sure they aren’t a little bit racist . Maybe I’m being too much of a bleeding heart liberal but I didn’t feel comfortable doing it.) Nice two-tone blue colourway though.

May 1 cat toothlessIt’s Comic Review Thursday and you know what that means – I have to keep things brief. But before I go, remember I said one of the cats I’m catsitting for looks like Toothless from How To Train Your Dragon? Well, here’s the proof.

Lily zooms around a lot, but she did briefly settle down last night… on top of Felix. He was already on my lap; Lily wanted to be there too, and she wasn’t going to let a little thing like no space put her off. Felix looks resigned to it. I assume this happens a lot.

May 1 double-headed cat

 

May 1 Clash Of The TitansAs @starpuffed pointed out on my Twitter feed last night, it looked like a feline version of Dioskilos. Classical Greek scholars may point out that Dioskilos was a three-headed dog in the myths; however we, of course, were referring to the bargain basement version in Clash Of The Titans. Ray Harryhausen was never averse to cutbacks if it made his stop-motion animation sequences cheaper and easier. He once created an Octopus with on only six tentacles for It Came From Beneath The Sea to save on the budget.

Enjoy Thursday. Enjoy May. I will. This could be a very interesting month.

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £760 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

