Day 122: You Damned Dirty Asics!

YOU MANIACS! YOU BLEW IT UP! OH, DAMN YOU! GODDAMN YOU ALL TO HELL!

May 2 main

 

I feel a bout of overacting coming on. But the ending of the 1968 classic Planet Of The Asics always gets me that way. Much better than that bizarre “twist” in the Tim Burton remake, when Mark Whalberg returned to Earth to find that timeline had been changed and suddenly Hi-Tech trainers were the height of cool.

May 2 Scotland

Scottish sand shoes

Double deadline today (Comic Review and the new SFX special) so I’m going to have to keep things brief. Three things before I go, though. Seems that I was being the quintessential soft Southerner when I admitted two days ago that I had never heard of the term “sand shoes”. From the emails and Tweets I received, its clearly not a term peculiar to Australia but also Scotland and Northumbria too. You live and learn. Not sure it’ll ever come up on University Challenge, though.

Todays trainers are a pair of Asics from the Boo collection. She’s been emailing her colleagues who donated them to prove that they were going to a good cause.

Thirdly, I am now officially a third of the way (actually a teensy bit over) through this challenge. So if you haven’t sponsored me yet, now would be a good time – I think I’ve proven I’m determined to get through this!

 

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £760 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

