Day 124: May The Fourth Be With Shoe

Feel the Force! It’s urging you to donate to the Sole Of Sci-Fi charity challenge in aid of Alzheimer’s Research UK…

May 4 main

Go on. Admit it. You knew today’s Sole Of Sci-Fi was going to have a Star Wars theme. With 4 May now being some kind of unofficial world-wide Star Wars Day, it was never going to do be anything else.

May 4 leopardEspecially when I found those star-covered Vans! All the pieces fell into place. I still haven’t got the foggiest idea, though, why a pair of star-emblazoned, faded denim-look Vans also have a leopard-skin patterned interior. What’s all that about?

 

They’re a great pair of trainers, though (hi-top Vans Eras are a new one on me) but at size 8 1/2 a little to tight for me to keep after the challenge. So if anybody wants them, feel free to Tweet me an offer. They cost £35 and have (or, at least, will have been by the end of today) worn only once, literally. Proceeds will go back into the Challenge, of course.

Believe it or not, I’ve taken nearly 100 photos already this morning. I hadn’t planned to. The plan was – as it’s my final day catsitting – that I’d just to take a couple out of the windows of the house where I’m staying to show what great views it has of Bath. Shots like this, of the mist coming up the valley to the East…

 

May 4 Looking East

You can even see the Abbey, though I had to cheat and go outside and up the road a bit so you could see, because I still haven’t bought that zoom lens I keep promising myself.

May 4 landscape 2

But that’s when I saw… BALLOONS!

May 4 eight balloons

In case you didn’t know, Bath and Bristol are the hot air balloon capitals of the UK (hey if South Africa can have multiple capitals, so can we!). And I get very excited about hot air balloons. I’ve been up in a balloon three times and it’s an extraordinary experience, but even just watching them float by from the ground – like giant, kaleidoscopic jellyfish wafting in tropical waters – I get stupidly awestruck. I used to love living next door to Victoria Park a few years back, because during summer I’d often walk past hot air balloons being inflated for that morning’s ascent, and become mesmerised.

And here’s a red balloon being prepped in Vicky Park this morning.

May 4 Balloon in Vicky Park

And here it is a few minutes later, with another balloon getting ready for take off below…

May 4 red balloon 2

And here’s one more for luck, with a bored-looking pigeon who can’t work out what all the fuss is about..

May 4 two balloons and bird

 

So yeah, lovely views from this house, but when it comes to sheer number of balloons, this is peanuts compared to this photo I took from the grassy knoll behind my own house last year, during the Bristol Balloon Festival.

Lotsa balloons

Before I sign off for the day, here’s another photo of Lily doing her Toothless impression:

May 4 toothless

Bye bye cats!

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £760 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

Standard

One thought on “Day 124: May The Fourth Be With Shoe

  1. Pingback: Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 05/04/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

