Day 128: She’s Got Orion My Trainers

Sole Of Sci-Fi goes all Khaleesi and frees the (green) slave girl. Why not celebrate by sponsoring me in this 365-day charity challenge?

May 8 main

 

Right, so today is going to be one of those days, is it? You might have worked out from the photo that there was a bit of a technical cock up with the usual camera this morning (ie, I forgot the memory card) so I had to perform another bizarre selfie wiusing the iPhone (is it a selfie when it doesn’t involve your face?). I also had that particular “Orion” pun planned for a day when I was wearing a sexier pair of trainers, but the shot I had planned for today wasn’t going to work with an iPhone camera, so this pair got called into action as an emergency replacmenet.

Then again, maybe Orion slave girls find six year old Pumas that I only ever usually wear for cycling a bit of a turn on. They are alien, after all. (She belongs to Nick Setchfield by the way.)

May 8 zombieIt’s another Comic Review day, so yeah, a brief update this time. Not much to report, really. I was doing some judging for the SFX zombie short story competition last night and this morning. There are some very disturbed minds out there, that’s for sure. The main problem with a lot of them is that they’re not really short stories. Too many people have tried to create an entire world and apocalypse in under 1,500 words, leading to an awful lot of exposition, when really, the details don’t matter. The “sudden twist ending” is another oft-used device; thanks to Roald Dahl that’s what some people appear to think short stories are all about.

Oddly, while I’m helping to judge this, someone somewhere is currently judging a short 15-minute play of mine for a Radio 4 competition. It’s not sci-fi or fantasy, you may be amazed to hear. And I think it hasn’t got the minutest chances of getting shortlisted. Partly because it has a twist ending.

Hypocrite? Me?

I’m still getting an amazing hits on the blog at the moment – about double what I was getting four weeks ago. But it’s not translating into more sponsorship which is frustrating. So if you are a newbie, please spare a fiver for a good cause.

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £770 (some of the PayPal funds for trainer sales has now been released)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

Standard

Leave a Reply

