Day 134: The Fifth Amendment – Adidas Nizza And Tegan

Revealed! The Fifth Doctor’s line-up of companions you never saw…

May 14 main

Forget the Fifth Doctor line-up of companions Adric, Nyssa and Tegan. Welcome to Adidas Nizza and Tegan. While the replacement of the ever-scoffing maths genius to an item of software is hardly a great loss, it’s a shame the Traken princess’s fair skirts have been swapped for a sand shoe. Tegan looks pleased, though we’re not sure why. Maybe she’s picturing a different bit of tongue-lashing to normal. Which all sounds terrible pervy, come to think of it. Let’s move on…

Had the most Likes ever in one day on the blog yesterday and a huge amount of hits. I suspect many people visited for the first time because of my mini X-Men: Days Of Future Past review and the two Magnetos gag. Okay, officially that was two days ago in terms of the challenge, but since Day 132 blog was posted so late on Monday, most of the traffic it generated took place yesterday.  I wonder what the newbies made of all this trainers-and-sci-fi nonsense? Not much if the total lack of new donations is anything to go by (hmm, I’m beginning to sound like a broken record).

x-men days of future past blinkOh yeah, and something I forgot to mention when talking about Days Of Future Past: I predict that YouTube will be awash with Blink/Portal mash-ups videos within weeks.

Did some filming for a Sky Movie show called X-Men: Legacy yesterday afternoon. Sat in a room for half an hour an wibbled on about wound effects and the not very exciting movie death of Phoenix, basically. Then realised that this will be my first time in HD. That’s going to be scary. For the viewers, mainly. Interestingly, the guy who was asking the questions, Tim, knew all about Sole Of Sci-Fi. Maybe I should convince him to make a Sky documentary about the challenge? Or maybe not.

Arrived back in Bath just to see my bus – the 37 – pulling out of the station. I ran to the next bus stop and actually beat the bus, and so jumped on it there instead. No, I’m, not Quicksilver; Bath, thankfully, has a very odd one-way system in the city centre. The bus had to take the long route while I belted along in a virtually straight line from A to B. However, I was carrying an overnight bag which also contained two laptops, though, so it was a superhuman feat of sorts. Thing was, I’d forgotten that all all the bus times had recently changed and that the other bus that goes in my direction – the 319 – leaves the station two minutes after the 37.  I only remembered when I got off then bus near home, and a minute later watched the 319 sail past. I should have just caught that at the station.

May 14 close-up adidas Nizza

May 14 zipToday’s pair of Adidas Nizza trainers have an interesting fashion addition – a zip at the back. I remember Converse All-Stars went a bit zip crazy a few years back. Not sure if the zip is supposed to have a function (I still needed to loosen the laces to get them on) or just some half-hearted effort to look a bit punky. I shudder at the thought of trainers that zip up at the front, though. That’s nearly as heinous as Reebok pumps in the stupid gimmicks department.

Usual Sign-Off:

• Current total: £770

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Cheers Dave G

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

