Day 142: Judge Fredd

Sole of Sci-Fi take a trip to Mega City One. For today is Judgement Day…

May 22 main

The last of the birthday trainers today (they’re Fred Perry, so Judge Fredd… geddit?), and luckily for punning purposes any old subterranean garage (with the right filter on your camera) does a reasonable impression of the scuzzier parts of Mega City One. Who needs to travel all the way to South Africa to shoot a Dredd movie? If they ever do decide to make a sequel to the Karl Urban film, they could just use Future Publishing’s car park. After all, Future could do with the money.

Which does bring me to one are of concern about handing in my notice: what effect will not working at Future have on Sole Of Sci-Fi. SFX editor Dave Bradley has already said that I’m okay to carry on retweeting using the SFX Twitter feed, because Sole Of Sci-Fi is a fun charity event that SFX’s followers are enjoying. (Well, apart form the three who threatened to stop following SFX unless I stop – what’s wrong with these people? They can’t put up with a couple of Tweets a day for the sake of charity? I’ll happily admit the gimmick might not appeal to everyone, but I’m hardly shoving it down everyone’s throats). So that’s good.

But Future has also been good for providing photo locations, taking delivery of trainers, and providing loan trainers. When I don’t work here, I can’t use our internal communications system to ask for more loans. Looks like I’m going to have to think of new avenues to explore. But hey, I do keep calling this a challenge, so I can’t complain if it becomes challenging. That’s part of the reason why people sponsor me!

So, some interesting time ahead as I’m thrown out of the comfort zone. But at the moment it’s just another new challenge among many that I’m genuinely looking forward to.

StrangeOh, and I have a new favourite thing. If I said, “Follow the mellow trick toad?” would anybody have a clue what I’m referring to? No. Then maybe the picture might help. No? Ah well, your loss. Normally I’d be urging you to watch it, but at the moment it feels like my special secret; a subversive gem hidden away on CBBC and it’s my secret; like discovering a cool indie band and hoping they don’t make it big because then you won’t look so hip for liking them.

But it’ll be getting a glowing review in SFX #150 (I can promise, because I’m doing the review) so that’ll be the end of keeping it under wraps.

Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £795 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

