Day 145: Original Star Tread

It’s an anomaly that defies the laws of Asics. Some Sunday Trek for the 365-day charity trainer challenge…

May 25 main

Don’t know what it’s like where you are, but here in the hinterland between Bath and Bristol it’s far too sunny to be writing a massive blog, so forgive if I don’t rattle on today.

Sunny weather truly is the enemy of productivity in my life. I’m supposed to be writing a whole bunch of freelance – some Star Trek-related for Syfy (weak inspiration for today’s photo I suppose) – as well as prepping a feature for Alzheimer’s Research UK about the Sole Of Sc-fi. I’m not getting paid for that last one, obviously – it’s to further the Sole Of Sci-Fi cause and hopefully reach more sponsors.

I hope that by having a major feature on their blog will give the Sole Of Sci-Fi some respectability as well. I’m still having massive problems trying to get any footwear companies or sellers involved. I won’t name who I’ve approached so far as that seems unfair, but so far no one seems to want to help. I’m hoping that if I can send them a link to a feature on the ARUK site that’ll convince them I’m not just trying to get free trainers out of them.

A car boot sale is imminent – within the next month – and I have tons of trainers to shift, some in very good condition, so I’m hoping for a good haul. I’ve decided half the profits will go straight to the sponsorship pot and the other half will go towards more cheap eBay trainers so I can complete the challenge. Not the route I really wanted to go down, but with some other plans not working out, it’s a valid alternative; I’m hoping that the loss by selling them on again won’t lose the total money haul too much at the end of the year. Sourcing more loans is still my preferred method, and when I leave work at the end of June I’ll have more time to devote to that.

I wore a lot of Asics in the early days of the challenge but they’ve dried up a bit lately, so it’s nice to see pair back. These actually came from a charity shop in Bath and they’re neither quite as purple (they’re actually more of a blue) or as new looking as they do in the photo (I blame the glow of the Mutura Nebula).

Hannibal 2001Oh, and for reasons too bizarre to go into, the first thing I did this morning was watch Hannibal – the 2001 film not the TV show. I’m amazed how little of it I recalled – just the, erm, meal at the end, basically. Then again, apart from that meal at the end, there’s not that much memorable about it. And Lordy, Anthony Hopkins is bad. It’s amazing to think watching this pantomime performance that he won an Oscar for playing the same character in another film. It makes me realise how brilliantly understated Mads Mikkelson is… even though I can’t understand 25% of what he’s saying (it’s not so much the accent as the mumbling and the weird incidental “noise”  – you can hardly call it music – that’s the problem).

See you tomorrow.

Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £805 (still creeping up – wonder if I can make it to £1,ooo by the end of June?)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

