Day 146: Orange And Blue, The Portal Shoe

They said this game would have legs… 

May 26 main

A couple of years back when I was running the SFX website, I used to write a regular Friday column called Spurious Awards. Each week it would look back at the last seven days of sci-fi, highlighting some of the sillier stories and bizarre internet posts and YouTube videos. For a while Portal 2 was a regular fixture (its nearest rival in terms of mentions was Skyrim). People loved pimping Portal characters, or building them from Lego, or making Portal gun cakes (not kidding about that last one either).

So, if I’d been doing Sole Of Sci-Fi back then I would have confidently predicted that today’s pic would have gone viral. Now, though, I’m the last geek on the bandwagon.

But when I saw someone wearing these blue and orange trainers at work, the first thing I thought of, “Portal!” (The portals in the game are blue and orange, y’see.) So I spent a little bit too much buying on a pair from eBay just for this gag. On the other hand, they’re a great pair of kicks anyway, so I’ll be keeping these after the end of the challenge; file them under, “Would have bought anyway”. (They’re  a pair of Pearl Izumi Em Road M 3 trainers, by the way, which sounds more like a chemical formula.)

May 26 close-up 2

Oh, and because I know you like them – and I haven’t posted one for a while – here’s a behind-the-scenes pic showing how I got exactly the right angle on the legs for the pic. It was tricky because I had to have a little bit of sole showing. I had a few failures

May 26 behind-the-scenes

So, Bank Holiday Monday and after a brief trip to the shops (I need milk!) it’s going to be all work, work work. Still, it’s getting me prepared for the life of  real freelancer. And luckily the weather’s a bit rubbish today, so I’m more in the mood than I was yesterday.

In the Flesh 2.04

Finally, a quick word on last night’s In The Flesh. I was really worried at one point, when it appeared to have turned into a really bad sitcom. All that stuff with Mrs Lamb (Rita Tushingham) accidentally giving the incriminating video to her neighbour, who just happened to play it when Maxine Martin was visiting was the kind of thing that was clichéd old toot back on ’70s TV. It was such embarrassingly bad plotting I was half expecting someone to open a door to find a vicar with his trousers round his ankles in a compromising position with a zombie prostitute.

Thankfully this was a small blip and the episode ended with a series of brilliant scenes, including Kieren’s moving, pleading speech over Sunday lunch, and Philip finally outing himself. Luke Newberry continues to impress as Luke but I think Stephen  Thompson is doing an incredible job in a much less grandstanding role.

The only other thing that’s really annoying me about the show at the moment is how obvious it is that Emmett J Scanlan (Simon) is incredibly irritated by his zombie contact lenses. While Luke Newberry is great keeping blinking to a minimum – making his appear “otherworldly” – Scanlan constantly looks like he’s being attacked to gnats. It’s a shame, because it’s really distracting from an otherwise solid performance.

Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £805 (let’s make it to £1,ooo by the end of June!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

 

Standard

One thought on “Day 146: Orange And Blue, The Portal Shoe

  1. Pingback: Day 166: Close Encounters Of The Shoe Kind | The Sole Of Sci-Fi

Leave a Reply

