Day 151: Adidas Superstar Wars – Lace Windu Attacks

A double Star Wars/trainers pun for the last day in May. I’m spoiling you…

May 31 main

Sole Of Sci-Fi is feeling the Force again for the final day of May. The animated version of Mace Windu from the Genndy Tartakovsky Clone Wars must be one of sci-fi’s pinnacles of coolness. Sam Jackson is so cool he actually manages to come out of the Star Wars prequel trilogy with dignity intact; Mace Windu is one of the few things for which it’s worth watching George’s most expensive vanity project ever. And Tartakovsky’s ’toon take on the kick-ass Jedi is an angular, animated, apogee of attitude. And I bet that never gets quoted on any DVD sleeves.

The Adidas Superstar is, of course, a classic. Although launched in the late ’60s, they were catapulted into the zeitgeist big time in the early ’80s when rappers Run DMC popularised them (they even released a song about them – “My Adidas”). Run DMC actually wore them on stage and on vids with no laces and the tongue pushed out, which did become popular “on the street” for a while, until everybody realised they kept losing their trainers when they got in a fight. Probably. I made that last bit up.

This pair, by the way, is on loan from Jordan, who’s been raiding his cupboards to help out the challenge recently, after I put out a panicked call for help after I realised my source of trainers was running low. I actually had a great response. I’m also picking up a pair tomorrow from one on my Twitter followers who just happens to be on a stag do in Bath this weekend. Haven’t got a clue what they are, so that’ll be a nice surprise. Unless they’re Reeboks. But needs must.

photo (14)But the biggest new haul was once again from the Future Sports division – specifically Elizabeth Elliott to whom I am very grateful. Look at these boxes of delights! She said they were sent in for a feature; I’ve looked inside the boxes and can only assume the feature was “Most Garish Trainers”. Watch this space!

I interviewed The Vampire Diaries’ Ian Somerhalder yesterday. He’s promoting a new film he’s in, The Anomaly, written and directed by Noel “Tin Dog” Clarke. Somerhalder had no idea Clarke was once eaten by a “trash can” (I know it was a wheelie bin but wasn’t sure if Americans use the phrase “wheelie bin”). He does now, and I told him to ask Clarke about it the next time he sees him. I’m sure it’ll bring back fond memories.

ianneechI also had to ask him why he’s strangling a dog on his Ian Somerhalder Foundation charity website. Apparently he’s just being affectionate. That’s his own rescue dog, Nietzsche. Which he pronounces the American way so she’s Neeshee, not Nee-chuh. As he pointed out, Neeshee sounds a lot cuter that Nee-chuh.

This was a very odd interview.

We did talk a bit about The Vampire Diaries season six but you’ll have to read SFX 250 to find out what he says about how much he’ll be involved after the shocking events in the season five finale.

See you tomorrow.

Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £805 (let’s make it to £1,ooo by the end of June!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

