Day 160: My Neighbour Toe-toro

The Sole Of Sci-Fi goes toe-to-toe with Totoro

June 9 b

It’s the pun you’ve been waiting for… and only 24 hours late (since Totoro was the guy I forgot to take with me at the weekend, necessitating yesterday’s very hastily put-together shoot). The trainers are a pair of Brooks runners; another pair from the Future Sports Division mass donation. I couldn’t take these to the car boot yesterday, as they’d already been claimed by Richard Edwards on SFX, as part of a previous deal. Rich is still letting me borrow them for the Challenge though, so cheers for that mate.

Rich had his pick of one pair from the selection, and he claims he chose these ones because they fitted him best. He’s a proper runner, y’see, and has to have the one’s that suite his gait best, or so he claims. But isn’t it interesting how he’s chose by far the least garish pair of the lot?  Hmmmmm… [rubs chin].

June 9 main

Totoro, meanwhile, belongs to Jayne Nelson, and I reckon he leapt out of my overnight bag at the weekend because he was worried he might get sold at the car boot sale.

He may have had a point. Car boot shoppers will offer to buy anything… not just the things on sale. I took along two suitcases for carrying the trainers, and had offers on both of them during the course of the day, and one guy even wanted to buy my Sinclair Spectrum bag (which featured on Day 19).

Jan 19 main 2

It was a fantastically sunny day for a car boot sale, even when we got there at 6am to be greeted by the early vultures. You know, the ones whocome swooping in before you’ve even opened your boot going, “You got any vinyl, mate?” or “You got any games?” but never, strangely, “You got any trainers?”

Here’s what the stall looked like at the beginning of the day…

Car boot morning

I was immediately accosted by some woman who claimed I was charging for too much and I was never going to sell anything at those prices…

And she was completely wrong, as the much smaller hall of shame of unsold trainers some six hours later shows.

car boot hall of shame

Some I’m not surprised I’m still lumbered with (the hideous shiny ones bottom right, for a start) but I thought I’d shift the Puma runners and the DayGlo Adidas. I reckon they’ll go at another car boot later in the year, if I don’t get any online offers first.

The big question is – how much did I make?  Over £300 is the answer. Of which £75 was from donated pairs, and the rest was for pairs I’ve bought or already owned. The £75 has gone straight on the charity total below (£900 now!) while the rest will be ploughed back into more trainer purchases.  I did make a little bit of a profit as regards how much I’ve spent this year on second hand trainers this year, and how much I made yesterday, which if I continue to speculate in that way will be more dosh for Alzheimer’s at the end of the year.

While £275 to spend on trainers may sound a lot, but on eBay the average spend on a second hand pair is a tenner, so that’s only 25 days’ worth – not even a month! So I still need people to lend me trainers. And I’ve still got to get a few companies and shoe shops to help me out.

All in all, though, a pretty successful day.

Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £900 (Wooohooooo! Let’s make it to £1,ooo by the end of June! Come on, that’s just £5 from 15 of you!)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

