Day 167: The Trainers On The Edge Of Forever

Are these the trainers that hold the key to the future? Erm, probably not…

June 16 main

“These trainers are not logical.” Well, no. They’re last thing you expect to see through a time gate. Joan Collins getting run over, maybe. Any random episode of Star Trek: Voyager, perhaps. Two blokes in polo neck jumpers bouncing around a tunnel of concentric circles,almost certainly. But Richard Edwards’s old Adidas kicks? The Guardian Of Forever is clearly on the fritz.

(Oh, and a  free Hulk table mat for anyone who can work out the poster I was standing on when I took the picture of the trainers; it’s not as obvious as you might think, but it has been hanging around the SFX offices rolled up for months, so I doubt anyone will mind the footprints.)

My last full week at work. It’s going to be fraught. Especially as I’m out of the office tomorrow visiting 2000 AD publisher Rebellion all day. Not that that in itself will be fraught; it’ll just cause a knock-on effect. So excuse me if today’s entry is a bit brief. Typical, really, that Simon Pegg directs a load of new people to the blog during a period when I can’t devote as much time to it as I’d like.

I’m also running desperately low on trainers. I think I’ve milked all my regulars for as many footwear donations as I’m likely to get but if any of you think putting the poster below up at work or handing it out to any clubs you belong to might help, feel free to print out and distribute. There’s a link to a PDF version beneath it.

SOLE SEARCHER copy

SOLE SEARCHER copy

Donate buttonUsual Sign-Off

• Current total: £930 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

