Day 169: Ghost Rider, Leader Of The Pac(-Man)

The first cycle shoes of the challenge may prove a major irritant…

June 18 main

Going to be sending everybody in the office mad today with the constant clacking of cycle shoes. I was trying a collect together five pairs of cycling shoes for that themed ”bike week” I mentioned way back in January – I’ve got three pairs so far – but I’m running so low on donated trainers right now I’ve had no choice but endure of a day of plasticky, Velcro-y, click-clacking footwear earlier than planned. (There are a few pairs in the post, apparently, but they’re taking their time.)

On the other hand, I also have some very good news: thanks to an incredibly generous donation from SFX editor Dave Bradley, I’ve now raised £1,000. That was my original target, but hey, let’s not stop there! I’ve still committed myself to completing this challenge, so I’m going to carry on begging for more donations!

I’m also a little hungover, as the session with Rebellion in Oxford yesterday went on until rather late. I never got them drunk enough that they’d agree to publish my comic, though.

Game Of ThronesI take it we’ve all seen Game Of Thrones now? In case you haven’t I’m not going to peddle any spoilers (no cycling pun intended – it’s spelt differently, anyway). But blimey, it was edge-of-seat stuff, wasn’t it? I actually had to pause it half way through and ponder whether I was actually enjoying it or simply enduring it. Not that I don’t want to carry on watching – it’s essential viewing – it’s just that with virtually every scene now I’m convinced one of my favourite is going to die horribly, and that makes viewing the show an uncomfortable experience.

Not so sure about some of the more overt fantasy elements introduced in the episode, though. I prefer Game Of Thrones when it’s more like The Tudors with dragons. There were a couple of moments in the season four finale when it all went a bit cheesily Shannara. But I trust the show enough to assume we won’t be getting too many epic fantasy clichés (though I haven’t read the books, so maybe it will…)

See you tomorrow.


Donate button
Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,000 (thanks to David Bradley for yesterday’s generous donation)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at dave.golder@futurenet.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

