Day 191: Lost Ticket And Canoe Shoes

If someone on Oceanic Flight 815 had been wearing these trainers, they could have all paddled off the island after the crash…

July 10 main

Purchased these rather smart Lambretta plimsolls off eBay at an incredibly cheap price and can’t complain about the quality – they look brand spanking new (and therefore should be an easy profit for the charity at car boot). But the seller did warn why they were selling them; they’re labelled UK size 10 but they feel more like a size 11 or maybe even 12. That old cliché about “he had feet like canoes” has never felt more apt.

The canoe image for some reason got me thinking of Lost, and I managed to unearth this wonderfully esoteric piece of memorabilia that I was sent a few years back while working on SFX. It’s a ticket to a Sky event to mark the airing of the final season of Lost in the UK, and was cleverly designed to look like a ticket for a flight on the fateful Oceanic 815. (I must admit, I did wonder at the time if Sky was subtly hinting that it was just about to mysteriously “vanish” any critics who’d ever said anything unkind about the show.)

The event itself was The Reduced Shakespeare Company performing five seasons of Lost in under 10 minutes. They also make a wonderfully prescient comment on season six: “All your questions will be answered!” “Really?” “No!”

It’s a shame they never did an extended version which included the “waiting room for God” sixth season and its, “Have you tried switching it off and switching it on again?” finale.

There were two performances on the night and the video below seems to have been edited together from both as Jayne Nelson and I keep vanishing and reappearing from the front row. But I suppose that’s very Lost. (I was looking very tubby at the time – I hadn’t become a born again cyclist at the time.)

Still have no internet. Still tethering my computer to my phone and panicking what my Vodafone bill will look like this month.

Went for a leaving drink with the mighty Rob Power last night. He has huge feet and no money. Maybe I can flog today’s plimsolls to him…

Donate buttonUsual Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,045 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

