Day 198: Halo, I Must Be Going

The fate of the new Master Chief hangs in the Balance…

July 17 main

Okay, I have no idea what I’m talking about today. Some of you may be thinking, “So, what else in new?” Oh, you wags. But I’ve mentioned before that I’m not much of gamer, and I’m specifically total rubbish at first person shooters, so you won’t be surprised to learn that I have never played any of the Halo games.

Consequently, I don’t actually have the foggiest idea what’s going on in the image above. I just thought I ought to at least pay lip service to the most lucrative games series of all time; the various games have sold over 50 million copies worldwide between them, with the games alone grossing almost $3.4 billion. Not giving Halo a mention would be like ignoring Doctor Who or Avatar… oh, hang on.

All I know is the games star some guy called Master Chief, which always makes me think of a celebrity cooking competition for some reason.

Amazingly I have found two official pairs of Halo trainers that have been released over the years.

Halo shoes 5

I do get annoyed, though, when the gaming industry keeps boasting about how it’s now bigger than the movie business. Talk about being able to prove anything with statistics. New console games are about four times as expensive as buying a ticket to the cinema, so no wonder they make so much money. Plus, movies have a second lucrative life on Blu-ray and DVD; games just get sold second hand.

Games may well become the primary source of good storytelling one day, but they’re still a long way from it just yet. And just as cinema didn’t kill books, and TV didn’t kill cinema, movies will co-exist with games quite happily when games do triumph. Because for people like me, watching excitingly-filmed action on the big screen is preferable to getting continually killed on the small screen.

Yeah, I’m an entertainment Luddite, and I don’t care.

(Apologies, by the way, for a headline that inadvertantly references a Phil Collins LP.)

The New Balance are a new pair I bought because, frankly, I’ve never owned a decent pair of New Balance, and they’re an early Day 200 present to myself.

See you tomorrow.

Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,060

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

