Day 217: Access Sole Areas

The plimsoll of choice for Shaolin Monks, apparently…

August 5 main

It wasn’t until after I’d taken this morning’s photo that I looked up the brand of plimsolls – Feiyue – on t’internet, and discovered that they’re apparently the martial arts shoes and the footwear of choice for Shaolin monks. The name Feiyue means “’flying forward” and according to Chinese traditions, feiyue symbolises the dual elevation of both body and mind.

0414_feiyue_monkI thought they were just colourful plimsolls. Imagine what the photo may have looked liked if I’d known all that before I’d taken it.

Instead, you get a fairly basic week-one-of-the-challenge throwback, with a few old press passes I collected over my years at SFX. I know, I know, it’s a bit feeble compared to some of the images I’ve been creating recently, but as I warned my Twitter followers last night, I’m going to have to devote a little less time to the challenge for a few days, as a lot of work has suddenly come my way.

I think a lot of people still don’t appreciate quite how much time, energy and effort this charity challenge demands. Occasionally I get a Twitter reply from some SFX follower going, “This joke has gone on too long!” (or something less polite). Well, yeah, tell me about it. They only have to endure looking at one photo a day – what a hardship. I have to create these photos and blogs every day, not to mention the constant search for more trainers.

I sometimes think, “Hell, I’ve reached my original £1,000 target – I could just give up.” But I committed to 365 days back at the start and to stop any earlier feels like I’m conning the people who have donated already. Besides which, surely raising more than the target is a good thing.

shoesIt does irk me that some people think I’m doing this all for a lark. Seems they’re happier to sponsor someone to go on a free holiday to Africa to climb Kilimanjaro or to canoe down the Amazon – hell, I wouldn’t mind doing either of those; they sound kinds fun and exciting. Sole of Sci-Fi is now an endurance test, though, which is having major impact on ever day of my life.

But I’m not giving up. I’ve come too far now…

I really need to do another car boot sale, though. I can barely move in my house for trainers at the moment…

See you tomorrow.

Donate button

Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,110

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

