Day 245: Princess Uni-Saucony

In Sole Land, there are no rules: there’s no government, no baby sitters, no bedtimes, no frowny faces, no bushy mustaches, and no sensible shoes of any kind

September 2 main

A late blog today. That’s because after one of the busiest weekends of my life I had a bit of a lie-in, which I was enjoying until I remembered I had a noon deadline today for a piece of copy. I managed to write it in time, but that meant I couldn’t blog until after lunch. That’s what life as a freelancer is like – flexible.

Yesterday I was in Daventry trying to secure myself a bit more work. The journey was going well until I left the M42 and had to navigate the roads of Warwickshire and Northamptonshire. I never use SatNav. It’s a pride thing. As a man, I consider the digital equivalent of stopping to ask a pedestrian for help: just too embarrassing.

It’s normally a problem. I just jot down the main towns I need to go through or head towards, and the main A roads I need to be looking for.

sign-overgrown-220Which is fine when you’re in a county where the council occasionally cut the trees and hedges. Which doesn’t include Northamptonshire or Warwickshire apparently. I lot count of the times I arrived at a roundabout without a clue which exit I needed because the road sign had been obscured by branches. I was like some kind of roundabout lottery, with my little rented car as one of the balls, bouncing around the West Midlands.

On the way home, I navigated using the sun. Honest – no kidding. I knew if I kept it on my right, I had to hit the M4o or M42 eventually. It worked and I got home 3o minutes quicker than it took me to get there.

The-Lego-Movie-Benny-the-Spaceman

I was intending on doing something with the spaceship from Lego Movie, but couldn’t find a usable image. But Princess Unikitty was my favourite character anyway, so I didn’t mind the swap. Was anyone else, though, really enjoying Lego Movie, but thought the live action ending was unnecessary, not particularly funny, and a bizarre tonal change? I’d have much preferred the film not to have gone all “meta”; it just felt like a strained attempt to ram home the “let’s work together” message (which until then had been commendably light-handed). Luckily, the rest of the movie is such enormous fun, the ending doesn’t drag it down too much.

And it has a cool spaceship.

See you tomorrow.

Donate button

Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,200 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

