Day 261: The Evil Tread

Possessed trainers are after your sole…

september18 layered

I feel a bit of a fraud doing an Evil Dead photo… because, gasp, I’ve never seen the film. The only Evil Dead film I’ve ever seen in full is Army Of Darkness, which is a bit like admitting that the only Doctor Who I’ve ever seen is the Colin Baker version.

I’ve never actively avoided the first two films; I’ve just never felt the urge to make the effort to watch them. Part of the problem is that I’ve read so many articles on the films over the years, and seen so many clips and interviews on TV and on the ’net, that it feels like actually watching the bloody things is unnecessary; surely there’s nothing left to surprise me?

On the other hand, I have first-hand evidence that proves this to be a spurious argument. I only watched Jaws for the first time three or four years ago. And despite thinking that I must know everything there is to know about the film, I found that I was absolutely spellbound by Spielberg’s first big hit. In fact, I’d go as far to say it remains his best film in many ways, certainly in terms of economical storytelling and tension.

peeping-tom

I was also late to the party with director Michael Powell’s Peeping Tom (1960), a legendary film that, as a former Film Studies undergrad, I really ought to have seen when I was at university. Instead, I first caught it last year, at god foresaken o’clock in the morning when I was suffering from chronic insomnia. And it was, quite simply, brilliant; edgy, elegant, unusual, unsettling and exquisitely shot.

Citizen Kane, though… I’ve got to admit that after years of dodging it (purely as a pose, so I could say, “Nah, never it”) it was exactly what I was expecting when I finally weakened – a massive case of style over substance, technically impressive but emotionally glacial. And how come nobody ever mentions the terrible ageing make-up (even for its time)?

See you tomorrow.

Donate button

Usual Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,200 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

One thought on “Day 261: The Evil Tread

  1. Pingback: Day 294: Evil Tread 2 | The Sole Of Sci-Fi

Leave a Reply

