Day 280: Sole Long And Thanks For All The Fish

Or maybe, The Long Dark Tea Time Of The Sole

October 7 main

And the answer to life, the shoe-niverse and everything is – according to today’s DC trainers – 43. That’s got Marvin depressed. Well, even more depressed than usual.

Why have these DC’s got 43 on them? It has something to do with them being official “Ken Block” trainers. No, I’d never heard of him either. He’s apparently a professional rally driver with the Hoonigan Racing Division, formerly known as the Monster World Rally Team, whatever that is, and his car bears the number 43. When asked why, he replied, “It doesn’t really mean anything, it was actually my favourite number as a kid.” So now you know.

October 7 tongueI like them because they’re black and orange (my favourite trainer colour combination) and they have a skull on each of the tongues.

Spookily, I’ve just discovered that 280 (the number of days I’ve been doing this challenge) divided by 42 is 6.66666666. So maybe 43 is the number of the devil in base bollocks or something. I’m sure Dan Brown could concoct whole conspiracy around it.

While I’m on the subject of Hitchhiker’s, here’s a contentious view for you: I think the six-part TV series is the best version of Hitchhiker’s. I know Douglas Adams wouldn’t agree; he loathed director Alan JW Bell’s work on the series. But I think it looks great, and, more importantly, has all the best gags and set pieces from the books and radio series re-jigged into an economical plot that has a vaguely coherent story thread and a climax of sorts.

Having said that, the film – for all its many faults – does recreate the planet-building scenes on Magrathea in breathtaking style. And the movie Marvin is impossibly cute.

Before I go today, I discovered this webpage by following back referrals to the site. I wonder what all those train enthusiasts made of Day 211?

October 7

See you tomorrow.

Donate button

 Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,215 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Day 280: Sole Long And Thanks For All The Fish

  1. I’m not sure if it beats the books, but the TV series is brilliant. It’s the version I’ve watched (rather than listened to/read) again and again and again, it’s wonderful.

    (best bit about the film was when they all turned into knitting, but that might just be me…)

Leave a Reply

