Day 301: Check This Out

Have you seen these Vans?

october 28 main

Don’t worry. It’s not really Judgement Day (I’m using the “e”, because UK spelling is the correct spelling, just as the way we order dates is the correct and logical way to order dates – why the hell would you want to put the month first?). And the T-1000 isn’t really looking for this pair of blue checked Vans.

Just as I prefer Alien to Aliens, I’m also much more of a fan of The Terminator than Terminator 2. The original film is a lean, mean sci-fi thriller, while the second movie – while a great action film – is a little flabby and flaccid in places. I also prefer evil Arnie Terminator to nice Arnie Terminator, although admittedly, if Cameron hadn’t included this twist, the sequel would have been a dreary case of “bigger budget, same old story”. And we wouldn’t have been introduced to the T-1000, who’s the best thing about the film by far.

Moving from movies past to movies future – Benedict Cumberbatch as Doctor Strange, eh? Now there’s a piece of casting that I’m genuinely excited about. Apparently, earlier this year Marvel was in talks with Joaquin Phoenix about the role, a decision presumably based entirely on the guy’s moustache in Her. I’m glad that didn’t work out; Benedict, for me, is a much better choice, as he radiates “strange” anyway, whereas Phoenix radiates “odd”.

The minute I heard the news, I could see Cumberbatch in the cloak. However, I couldn’t picture him with a beard. After a quick Google search I’m going to suggest the unthinkable… maybe he should play Strange without the facial furniture.

Benedict Cumberbatch beard

The film is set to be directed by Scott Derrickson, most famous for The Exorcism Of Emily Rose and The Day The Earth Stood Still, the latter of which was pretty much a 100% disaster, so I can’t honestly say I think he’s one of Marvel’s more exciting choices. He’s also a out and proud Christian; many of his interviews reveal that his Christian world view informs his filmmaking. I have no problem with that (the Christ allegory isn’t what scuppered Day, just a dull script, and arguably Derickson’s beliefs made Deliver Us From Evil a more interesting film than it otherswise might have been) but I do wonder how he’ll approach a film about the occult. I’d like to see a Strange film embrace the occult completely, not introduced some religious rationalisation for his powers.

I’m ready to have my doubts about Derrickson proven foundless, but  I’d have loved a more left field choice for a director for Doctor Strange. Like Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris (Little Miss Sunshine, Ruby Sparks) or James Bobin (The Muppets) perhaps.

Finally today, a MASSIVE thank you to my Twitter follower GeekCliché and his workmates at Staffordshire & Shropshire Health Informatics Service who donated a very healthy £50 to the charity total. “It’s the office tuck box profits, so it’s all down to chocolate addicts & stress,” explains Mr Cliché. I’m not sure I’m any the wiser, but I’m very, very grateful.

See you tomorrow!

Donate button

Usual Begging Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,270 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

