Day 305: Warg Attack!

It’s not a good idea to stand in the middle of the course when the Middle-earth Grand National is being run…

November 1

Good job I forward planned and shot this one yesterday, as it’s currently 7.30am in the morning, I’m around a mate’s house, having remembered my laptop, but not the power cable, rapidly writing this blog before the battery runs out.

I stayed over because we took part in a pub quiz in Bath, and rocked to a victory. It didn’t start well. I only found out when cycled over to Simon and Shirley’s house last night that we would get extra points if we went in Halloween fancy dress. I, obviously, didn’t have a costume, not having been forewarned. “Don’t worry,” they said, “we have an idea.”

I wasn’t keen on the idea, but they were insistent, so I ended up entering the bar with a white sheet draped over me, mumbling, “Whooooo… I’m a ghost.”

I wouldn’t have minded so much if a) we hadn’t won by such a wide margin that gimmicks to gain extra points weren’t necessary and b) the quiz master completely forgot to hand out extra points for fancy dress.

We won partly because, being Halloween, there were a lot of horror film related questions, so my esoteric knowledge proved useful for once, though I’m more proud of recognising Jean-Claude Juncker and Julia McKenzie in the picture round. I was, in fact, on fire, which is not a good thing when you’re wearing bed linen.

Today’s rugged trainers are a pair of LA Sportiva Wildcats courtesy of long-term Sole Of Sci-Fi supporter Pete Bayley. Cheers Pete.

See you tomorrow!

Donate button

Usual Begging Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,270 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

• Please, please, please leave comments below! I’m after ideas for mini-challenges, future photoshoots and how I can find enough pairs of trainers!

Standard

Leave a Reply

